Fate – Part I

January 24, 2011

Or Destiny.   Believe in it?  

When I was in 7th grade, my English teacher, Miss Gough, gave us an assignment:  come up with a metaphor, which she explained was a comparison without ‘like’ or ‘as’.   I went home, and found a paper back novel on my mother’s nightstand entitled The Heart is a Lonely Hunter.  

Good as any other, I thought at the time.   But when I presented this to Miss Gough, I shall never forget her reaction.    “That’s really good!”  she exclaimed.    And she looked at me as if she’d seen me for the first time.   And I looked at her as if I had seen her for the first time.    And I saw a very unattractive, dowdy woman in her mid thirties, whose heart would probably hunt, unsuccessfuly, for the rest of her lonely life, for a companion.

And I realized then I wanted to be a writer.

Leave a Reply

